• David Stern
  • Jan Kobow
  • Elisabeth Scholl
  • Marek Rzepka
  • Britta Schwarz

David Stern (Jury presidency)

tl_files/files/images/wettbewerb/ITW2017/Juroren/David Stern by Meredith Mullins_internet.jpg







David Stern is the born communicator whether he stands before a big symphony orchestra, a baroque opera leads, master courses gives or exerts himself for cultural projects. As the foundation manager of Opera Fuoco – a Paris opera studio and ensemble of historical performance practise – as well as an artistic adviser of Shanghai Baroque Festival and as the opera manager of the Crested Butte Music Festivals in Colorado, he is not only a musician, he is also leading musical representative of each of these institutions. In 2015 he was appointed to principal conductor of the Palm Beach Opera.

He is invited regularly by the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra and the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestras, just as from the China Philharmonic and the New Russian Symphony in Moscow. At last he was at the Drottningholm Opera Festival and at the Magdeburger Telemann-Festtage. He played with the Hong Kong Philharmonic, the Juilliard Opera Studio, the National Symphony Orchestraof Mexico, the Swedish Chamber Orchestra, the Wiener Kammerorchester and with the Wiener Symphonikern. He appeared often with Opera Fuoco as well as with the Kammerorchester Basel in the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, at the Lucerne Festival and in the Viennese concert hall. With Concerto Köln he was on tour in the Carnegie Hall.

Jan Kobow

tl_files/files/images/wettbewerb/ITW2017/Juroren/Jan Kobow c Bernd Bodtlaender_internet.jpg








Berlin native and tenor Jan Kobow has been a recognized figure in the music world since winning first prize in 1998 at the Internationalen Bach-Wettbewerb. He has established an international reputation as a Baroque vocal musician and has been invited to perform worldwide by amongst others: Masaaki Suzuki, John Eliot Gardiner, Sigiswald Kuijken, Philippe Herreweghe und Nikolaus Harnoncourt.

As a soloist he has helped in about 100 CD admissions and has already taken up nine solo albums, under it three song cycles of Schubert with Kristian Bezuidenhout and Christoph Hammer.

Jan Kobow has already appeared with various baroque opera productions, among other things in the La Monnaie/De Munt in Brussels or in the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts and embodied at last with great success the title part of the opera Sardanapalus of Boxberg in the Wilhelma theatre in Stuttgart.

He is a foundation member of the ensemble Himlische Cantorey with which already about ten CDs have appeared. Other co-operations with Gli Angeli Genève, Weser-Renaissance, Collegium Vocale Gent are also documented on admissions.

At home in Schloss Seehaus, Jan Kobow hosts an annual concert series, and conducts vocal master classes to share his knowledge and love of music.

Elisabeth Scholl









Elisabeth Scholl began her musical career in the boys’ choir Kiedricher Chorbuben and later studied musicology and English literature. Her vocal education with Eduard Wollitz was followed by studies in Early Music and historic performance practice at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. There she developed a strong interest in musicological research, editing musical manuscripts and performing them in concerts with her own ensemble L’arco cantabile. This CD, produced in November 2004 with Modo Antiquo, is another result of this work.

She has been invited by prestigious European festivals for example the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Lufthansa Festival of Baroque Music, Lucerne Festival, Festival van Vlaanderen and BBC Proms. She works with conductors like René Jacobs, Jos van Immerseel, Frieder Bernius, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Bruno Weil, Nicholas McGegan, Sir Neville Marriner and others. In addition to her concert performances, she gives lieder recitals.

In 2009 she became a professor for baroque song at the Musikhochschule Nürnberg. Since 2016 she also teaches at the Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT in Weimar her own song class.

Marek Rzepka

tl_files/files/images/wettbewerb/ITW2017/Juroren/rzepka portrait-02_high_internet.jpg








Marek Rzepka was born in Mikołów. He won first prize at the Kolobrzeg-Festival in 1989 and thereupon began his vocal training in Cracow, Dresden, Leipzig and Mannheim. Master courses with Brigitte Fassbaender, Teresa Żylis-Gara, Peter Schreier, Thomas Quasthoff and Charles Spencer complemented his education.

Marek Rzepka performs regularly with the Balthasar-Neumann-Chor und -Ensemble and Thomas Hengelbrock, the Musikpodium Stuttgart and Frieder Bernius, the rias Kammechor and Hans-Christoph Rademann. He guested in festivals like the Bologna Festival, the Händel-Festspielen Halle or the Boston Early Music Festival. In addition, the singer presented recitals at the Gewandhaus Leipzig, in Vienna, Hamburg, Dresden, Cracow and Freiburg and has participated in CD productions and broadcast recordings.

In October 2001 he received a teaching appointment for voice in the early music department at the Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy University of Music in Leipzig. Since October 2009 he received a teaching appointment for voice at the University of Music in Cracow. Professorships followed in the years 2013 at the college for music, theatre and media in Hannover and in 2015 in Bremen.

Britta Schwarz

tl_files/files/images/wettbewerb/ITW2017/Juroren/Britta Schwarz_internet.jpg








Britta Schwarz brings to bear in numerous concerts with famous orchestras for example the Berliner Philharmonikern, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Academy of St Martin in the Fields and the Cappella Andrea Barca, her extensive repertoire. She works with conductors like Philippe Herreweghe, Kent Nagano, Jörg-Peter Weigle, Bruno Weil, Marek Janowski, Peter Schreier and Gustavo Dudamel.

The very inspiring cooperation with András Schiff is to be emphasised. With big predilection Britta Schwarz devotes herself the chamber music what is reflected in a very successful song evening row in Dresden. Concerts led her in almost all countries of Europe and to Israel and Japan.

She works together with important baroque ensembles like the Freiburger Barockorchester, the Musica Antiqua Köln, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin etc. This leads to inspiring musical meetings, among the rest, with Reinhard Goebel, Pierre Cao, Ludger Rémy and Michael Schönheit. For some years Britta Schwarz teaches at the Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber Dresden and was appointed to fee professor in summer 2015 at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin.